Boating Museum Announces New Exhibits

Boating Museum Announces New Exhibits
            On May 27th the Finger Lakes Boating Museum will introduce to the public a new exhibit designed to transport visitors to the shore of a Finger Lake.  Artists, Cynthia Hill and Colleen Pastore, assisted by Hammondsport High School art students and volunteers  have transformed the walls of an exhibit hall into a Finger Lakes shoreline view complete with docks, pilings, seagulls and vineyards.  Finger Lakes built boats “float” gently on the Lake.  This project was made possible, in part, with public funds from NYSCA’s Decentralization Program, administered regionally by the ARTS Council of the Southern Finger Lakes.
            On shore, visitors can peek into a cottage with furnishings typical of the early 20th century.  The cottage was constructed and decorated by volunteers Beth and Jack Lucek and Del & Denise Rose, and furnished by Lon Pritchard and Ed Wightman. Be sure not to miss the cottage’s cat sunning itself on a canoe. 
            Three additional exhibits will be also be opening —three boats and the molds over which they were built, a trio of Penn Yan built boats and a trio of launches by different builders.
              The Museum is located at 8231 Pleasant Valley Road and is open seven days a week from 10AM to 5PM.  Visit soon and check out the new Lake Experience exhibit.

comments powered by Disqus
Local Weather
Geneva, NY
62°
Keyword Search
Geneva Office:
3568 Lenox Rd.
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 781-7000
News fax (315) 781-7077
Auburn Office:
5998 Experimental Rd.
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 258-0937
Dundee/Penn Yan office:
30 Main St.
Dundee, NY 14837
(607) 243-7158
Canandaigua Office:
3070 County Road 10
Canandaigua,NY 14424
(585) 394-1550
Copyright © 2017 Finger Lakes Daily News | EEO Report | Contest Rules | Contact
Site Designed by RiverBender.com
RSS Feeds