USDA Grants Federal Aid to Local Counties


Summer was miserable for farmers across upstate New York. Long stretches of hot weather with no rain created dangerous drought conditions. Now, the USDA says several counties upstate -- including Cayuga County -- is eligible for some financial aid from the federal agency.

Twenty nine counties in Upstate New York have been labeled primary natural disaster areas and will be eligible for aid through the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Senators Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand say eight area counties including Cayuga, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, and Yates will qualify for critical loan assistance after suffering a severe drought and crop freeze this past summer.

Farmers in these counties who experienced crop loss of 30 percent or more and are unable to get credit through a lender are now eligible to borrow up to $500,000 in aid.

#Cayuga #Ontario #Seneca #Steuben #Yates

comments powered by Disqus
Local Weather
Geneva, NY
Keyword Search
Geneva Office:
3568 Lenox Rd.
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 781-7000
News fax (315) 781-7077
Auburn Office:
5998 Experimental Rd.
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 258-0937
Dundee/Penn Yan office:
30 Main St.
Dundee, NY 14837
(607) 243-7158
Canandaigua Office:
3070 County Road 10
Canandaigua,NY 14424
(585) 394-1550
Copyright © 2017 Finger Lakes Daily News | EEO Report | Contest Rules | Contact
Site Designed by
RSS Feeds